русская версия 
Eversmann Zoology Museum of Kazan State University
  About the Museum   Collections History   Exhibition Halls   Persons   For Visitors         The site map         Email  
 

Collections History

The Museum was reconstructed from the Natural Science Study, which was stipulated by the University Statutes of 1804. Initially it included zoological, botanic and mineralogical collections kept in the University Library. It was situated in the ground floor of the south-eastern wing of the Main building. However, the collections appeared much earlier.


In the end of the XVIII century Prince G.A.Potyomkin-Tavrichesky planned to establish university in Yekaterinoslavl in accordance with the order of Catherine II. Collections of animals, plants and minerals were gathered for the site of learning. But in 1798 Pavel I ordered to give them to Kazan Gymnasia, which was a basis for Kazan University.


According to the report of 1819 made by adjunct V.I.Timyansky, the Natural Science Study collection consisted of 133 samples of mammals and birds, reptiles and fishes, arthropodals and worms. That collection of non-systematized exhibits marked the beginning of Museum organizing.

In 1806 professor K.F.Fuks started giving a lecturer course on Zoology and Comparative Anatomy to thirteen students; among them there was the future famous writer S.T.Aksakov. Professor Fuks was the first museum supervisor. At that time the museum acquired K.I.Bronner's conchiologic collections consisted of 578 tests. It was also the time when the museum began collaborating with taxidermist F.A.Istomin.

Professor E.I.Eikhvald, Corresponding Member of St. Petersburg Academy of Sciences and future Honorary Member of Kazan University, played a great role in the Museum development in 1823-1827. In his time the Museum got the first systematized zoological and paleontological collections, which he gathered himself during the expedition to Aralo-Caspian Region. He established the Study of Comparative Anatomy, the basis for contemporary section of invertebrates. The first systematic catalogue of the collection called "Inventory of Kazan Emperor University Zoological Study" was also complied at that time.

 
Photo from Museum Archives
Photo from Museum Archives



K.F.Fuks
K.F.Fuks



Page from Hand-Written Catalogue
Page from Hand-Written Catalogue
 
 

forward>>
 
© 2005-2012 Kazan University

  Музеи России - Museums of Russia - WWW.MUSEUM.RU

english version 
Зоологический музей им. Э.А.Эверсмана Казанского государственного университета
  О музее       История коллекций       Залы музея       Персоналии   посетителям     карта сайта     переписка  
 

История коллекций

Музей возник из Кабинета Естественной Истории, или "Натурального кабинета", полагавшегося университету по уставу 1804 года, и первоначально состоял из зоологических, ботанических и минералогических коллекций, помещавшихся в университетской библиотеке. Она располагалась в нижнем этаже юго-восточной стороны главного здания. Однако сами эти коллекции имеют более раннее происхождение.

В конце XVIII столетия князь Г.А.Потёмкин-Таврический по распоряжению Екатерины II планировал создать университет в Екатеринославе. Для него собирались коллекции животных, растений и минералов. Случилось так, что они по указу Павла I в 1798 году были переданы Казанской гимназии, на основе которой создавался Казанский университет.

По отчёту 1819 года, составленному адъюнктом В.И.Тимьянским, в собрании кабинета имелись 133 номера млекопитающих, птиц, рептилий, рыб, членистоногих и червей. Именно это собрание несистематизированных экспонатов и положило начало музею.

Уже в 1806 году профессор К.Ф.Фукс начал читать курс зоологии и сравнительной анатомии тринадцати слушателям, среди которых находился и будущий известный писатель С.Т.Аксаков. Профессор Фукс стал первым заведующим музея. При нём были закуплены конхиологические собрания профессора К.И.Броннера, состоявшие из 578 раковин. Тогда же началось сотрудничество музея с таксидермистом Ф.А.Истоминым.

В становлении музея в 1823-1827гг очень большую роль сыграл член-корреспондент Петербургской академии наук и будущий почётный член Казанского университета профессор Э.И.Эйхвальд. При нём в музее появляется первое систематизированное поступление: зоологические и палеонтологические коллекции, собранные им самим во время экспедиции по Арало-Каспийской области, он организует Кабинет Сравнительной Анатомии - основу современного отдела беспозвоночных животных. Тогда же составляется "Опись вещей, принадлежащих Зоологическому Кабинету Императорского Казанского Университета", которая становится первым систематизированным каталогом коллекции.

 
Фото из архивов музея
Фото из архивов музея



К.Ф.Фукс
К.Ф.Фукс



Лист из рукописного каталога
Лист из рукописного каталога
 
 

далее >>
 
© 2005-2012 Казанский университет

    Музеи России - Museums of Russia - WWW.MUSEUM.RU