E=mc2 Institute of Physics
Kazan Federal University E=mc2
      КFU > Academics > Institute of Physics > Departments
 General information
  · General physics department
· Theoretical physics department
· Astronomy and cosmic geodesy department
· Molecular physics department
· Relativity Theory and Gravity
· Quantum electronics and radiospectroscopy departme
· Chemical physics department
· Optics and nanophotonics department
· Radiophysics department
· Solid state physics department
· Radioastronomy department
· Radioelectronics department
 For Foreign Students
 Contact information
Solid state physics department

Solid state physics department was founded in 1969.

Its present head is Lenar Tagirov.

A new bachelor course “Nano- and microsystem technology” has been introduced in 2011, being the most promising research field in electronics for the next few decades.

Nanotechnologies allow researchers to manipulate with single atoms and molecules and develop new structures and materials with properties unattainable through applying common techniques.

Nanotechnologies operate with particles with sizes between 1 and 100 nanometers (1 nm = 10-9 m). Quantum-mechanical effects become apparent, which makes it possible to create materials with unprecedented solidity, flexibility, magnetic softness etc. Nanotechnologies are a way to record-breaking operation speeds, sizes and power consumption.

The department’s faculty :


© 1995-2012 Kazan Federal University