Search     Russian    
    KFU > Academics
About the Institute
   · of General Mathematics
· of Algebra
· of Geometry
· of Mathematical Analysis
· of Differential Equations
· of Theory of Functions and Approximations
· of Theoretical Mechanics
· of Aerohydromechanics
Personal Pages
   · Prof. M.Arslanov
· Prof. F.Avkhadiev
· Asc.Prof. V.Fomin
· Ass.Prof. K.Igudesman
· Asc.Prof. S.Ilyin
· Asc.Prof. I.Kayumov
· Asc.Prof. M.Malakhaltsev
· Prof. D.Mushtari
· Ass.Prof. M.Nasrutdinov
· Prof. Yu.Obnosov
· Asc.Prof. A.Podkovyrin
· Asc.Prof. E.Shirokova
· Prof. V.Shurygin
· Asc.Prof. S.Tronin

Director of the Institute
Professor Vladimir A. Chugunov

  Address: 18, Kremlevskaja str.,
  420008 Kazan,
  Tatarstan, Russia
  Tel.: (007-843) 233-71-60
  Fax: (007-843) 292-44-48

Institute of Mathematics and Mechanics

Since the day of the Kazan University foundation, its scientific traditions have been inseparable from the achievements of Kazan mathematicians and mechanicians. In 1961 the Faculty was registered as an independent unit when it split from the Faculty of Physics and Mathematics. In 1978, the Faculty of Computer Science was singled out from the Faculty of Mechanics and Computational Mathematics. In 2011 the Faculty has been transformed into the Institute of Mathematics and Mechanics.

At present, the Institute consists of six departments of mathematics, two departments of mechanics, and employs 21 Doctors of Science and 45 Candidates of Science.

Acting members and corresponding members of the academies of sciences are the following:

  • Yu.Konoplyov, member of the Academy of Science of the Republic of Tatarstan
  • A.Kosterin, corresponding member of the Russian Academy of Natural Science
  • M.Arslanov, member of the Academy of Science of the Republic of Tatarstan
  • D.Mushtari, member of the Academy of Science of the Republic of Tatarstan
  • V.Vishnevsky, member of the International Pedagogical Academy (Paris, France)

Institute departments develop a number of comprehensive large-scale scientific paradigms. Since 1993, the two-stage system of education is in force:

Bachelors - 4 years of study;
Masters - 6 years of study.
It is still possible to get the University Diploma upon completion of the 5-year-of-education pedagogical cycle.

All Institute departments and the Scientific-Research Institute of Mathematics and Mechanics run post-graduate courses, every year receiving about 10 new postgraduates. Solid reputation of the Kazan School of mathematicians and mechanics is confirmed by the fact that the KFU has several specialized councils for defense of candidate and doctoral theses.

The Institute takes pride in the fact that in the very beginning it was headed by Nikolai Lobachevsky. The ingenious mathematician, inventor of non-Euclidian geometry - his name is the first thing which comes to mind when someone mentions KFU. Nikolai Lobachevsky was not only a scientist, but a brilliant organizer, too: during the first 20 years of hardships which accompanied the process of the KFU formation, he was its Rector.

In the pre-revolutionary period the Kazan University employed most famous mathematicians and mechanicians, such as A.Popov, F.Souvourov, F.Vasiliyev, D.Sintsov, A.Kotelnikov, etc. After the Bolshevik revolution, the glory of the Kazan school of mathematics and mechanics was sustained by the Laureate of the State Prize, corresponding member of the Academy of Science of the USSR N.Chebotarev, Laureate of the Lenin Prize, member of the Academy of Science of the Ukranian SSR A.Petrov, Laureate of the Lenin Prize N.Chetayev, member of the Academy of Science of the Belorussian SSR F.Gakhov, professors P.Shirokov, N.Parfentiyev, K.Persidsky, B.Gagayev, A.Norden, K.Galimov, V.Morozov, B.Laptev, A.Sachenkov, G.Tumashev, M.Nuzhin, etc.

As for the extra-curriculum activities of the KFU students, one should mention the Institute Society of postgraduate and undergraduate students and a Institute newsletter. Students actively participate in the work with schoolchildren (pre-University school of computational mathematics and mechanics, summer school "Quant"). The Institute Student Theatre of Variety Miniatures is widely known beyond the limits of the KFU.

Each year the Institute receives 85 new students who choose either specialty of "Mathematics" (5-year period of study), or bi-modular system of "Mathematics" and "Mechanics" modules (4-year period of study for bachelor's degree). There is also a mathematics-and-mechanics department at KFU Campus - Zelenodolsk. To become a student of the Institute , one should pass three competitive exams: Mathematics (United State Exam), Physics (United State Exam); non-competitive: Russian Language (United State Exam).

Those who study "Mathematics" specialty, attend additional courses in Pedagogy and upon graduation, apart from qualification "Mathematician", receive additional qualification "Teacher of Mathematics". Talented students - future bachelors of science - may choose to continue their studies and study for 2 more years for the Master degree.

© 1995-2012 Kazan Federal University